cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Help! Gear mechanism selection in application menu not working.

AbhayAradhya
1-Newbie

Help! Gear mechanism selection in application menu not working.

I'm relatively new to Creo Parametric 2.0. I have two gears mounted on a beam with axles. I tried creating datum axes out of the axles and then selecting them through the gears menu. The datum axes worked. However, when I go to select the gears, nothing highlights and I can't select anything. Any help?

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 REPLY 1

Hello Abhay,

You need to apply a pin connection between each axle and an axis or hole within the assembly. (it cannot be in the gear or shaft component, must be something fixed in the assembly, another component or an assembly axis).

To do this you will need to select the axle component within the assembly, Right-Click and Edit definition. Go to the constraints tab in the ribbon and delete any constraints that you may have already applied.

In the ribbon you will see two drop-down menu's the one on the left is the connections drop-down. From here you need to select the 'pin' connection and apply this between 2 cylindrical surfaces or axes in the axle and the assembly. This will define the axis of rotation.