cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

How to Calculate Young's Modulus and Poisson Ratio if not given in Material Specs.

DAVIDMALOY
4-Participant

How to Calculate Young's Modulus and Poisson Ratio if not given in Material Specs.

Hi All,

I could use some help.

I am a one man business and I do design and engineering for small companies.

As an engineer, I often have to work with these clients and often they will provide me with material data sheet for plastics that they want to use.

I have to perform FEA (ProMechanica) strucural simulation for them to show validatity of the design. So sometimes I have to show or record Young's Modulus, Tensile Modulus, Possion Ratio, Density, etc in my reports. Also I keep copies for ISO 9000 reasons.

A client has has me a question and I gave him an answer as below you will see my method of finding Young's Modulus and Poisson Ratio.

The question from client: "How do you or someone tell me how to calculate Young's modulus and Poisson Ratio if not given in the Material Specs."

I would appreciate if someone could validate my formula and use of numbers from Material Data Spec sheets.

One method I have used over the years.

Young's Modulus = Stress / Strain ( Standard Text Book Answer)

Example: I have a material data sheet, attached. see "ABS_Data_Sheet.pdf"

Tensile Stress = 42.5Mpa

Strain at 50 percent yield = 23% (sometimes these values are stated; Strain at 50% elongation / 50mm/1minute

Young's Modulus =

math: 42.5Mpa / (23%/100) = (Not knowing the forces but given a maximum strain I use the maximum strain as control factor)

math: 42.5Mpa / 0.23 =

math: 184,782,608.696 Pas.

math:: round 184.8e6 Mpa

Poisson ratio.

Possion Ratio is rarely given.