cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Issue with family table instances and assemblies

ckorkuch
1-Newbie

Issue with family table instances and assemblies

Hey All,

PTC Creo Parametric

Release 2.0

Date Code M170

I apologize if this is already covered but there is just a mountain of topics around family tables and instances - and none seemed to cover my issue that I could find.  I'm pretty new to creo but have experience with solidworks, inventor, and autoCAD.  I have a part file that has 2 family tables instances.  I also have an assembly that also has its own 2 family tables instances that represent sub-assembly's.  I also have a second assembly that has its own 2 family table instances that represent final assembly's.  Each family table instance of the assembly includes a specific family table instance of the part file and sub assembly file.

For example:

part1.prt (generic)

part1-01.prt (instance 1)

part1-02.prt (instance 2)

subassembly.asm (generic)

subassembly-01.asm (instance 1), includes part1-01.prt

subassembly-02.asm (instance 2), includes part1-02.prt

assembly.asm (generic)

assembly-01.asm (instance 1), includes subassembly-01.asm

assembly-02.asm (instance 2), includes subassembly-02.asm

I've then created a drawing file for each assembly instance.  Everything looks great, and life is good, I've got what I need done for the day.  Then I close Creo 2.0 and go home.

A few days goes by, I open the drawing files to make tweaks, and export to PDF.  Everything again looks great, life is good.