cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Need Help Modelling a Stent

ptc-4961790
1-Newbie

Need Help Modelling a Stent

Hi All,

I am new to Creo, but have done a bit of design (including stents) on Unigraphics/NX and Solidworks.

I am trying to model a stent (such as seen below) for export to Abaqus for FE and CFD.

Stent Modelling-covidien-everflex-straight.jpg

I've tried a few different approaches, all that have ended up with me bashing my head on my desk from not understanding Creo's features.

My main strategy has been to start with a unit cell (or part of one), and tessellate it through the pattern function.

I start with a sketch of half a unit cell:

Stent Modelling-stentsketch.jpg

Then I sweep a rectangular cross section along the initial sketch. I then mirror the resulting solid twice to get the other half of the unit cell.

Stent Modelling-stentsweep.jpg

Then I make the unit into a pattern of 5x20 unit cells.

Stent Modelling-stentplane.jpg

This is where things get messy (although this could be a symptom of doing something wrong earlier?). The cells don't quite align nicely - there is either overlap or underlap. I think the answer would be some kind of "unite" function, where the exterior surface would be saved from overlapping. There is a small 'lip' from where the unit cells don't quite align. I think I could fix this by either being more careful with the first sketch that the sweep was made with, or by adding rounds at this stage to "wipe" over them. When I try to add rounds at this point, the tool takes the edge as being for two separate solids.

Stent Modelling-stentoverlaps.jpg