cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

Redacting Text in a parameter

RCNewton
11-Garnet

Redacting Text in a parameter

Hello everyone, I have a simple question. I am sure it can be done but I have little experience with restricted parameters other than setting up drop-down boxs. 

I have a parameter that has a value -  ****** (xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

Is there a way I can filter this out to just get ****** as a parameter. (Please note that the ******* are different lengths.) 

I would love to just stop before the "("

Any help is appreciated. 

Cheers

RCN

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I think you can do this simply, as long as the ***** stuff doesn't contain a "(". Let's say you have two parameters:

stringIN = "******* (XXXXXXXX.XXXXXXX)"
stringOUT

You want to use EXTRACT to set stringOUT to just the stuff before the "(". If the case is as simple as I've stated, that is done like this:

indexEnd = SEARCH ( stringIN, "(" )
IF indexEnd > 1
  stringOUT = EXTRACT ( stringIN, 1, ( indexEnd - 1 ) )
ENDIF

Note: If there's no "(" in stringIN, or there's no text prior to the "(", stringOUT remains unchanged. If there is a space between the beginning of stringIN and the "(" and you don't want it, use ( indexEnd - 2 ) instead of ( indexEnd - 1 ).

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2

I think you can do this simply, as long as the ***** stuff doesn't contain a "(". Let's say you have two parameters:

stringIN = "******* (XXXXXXXX.XXXXXXX)"
stringOUT

You want to use EXTRACT to set stringOUT to just the stuff before the "(". If the case is as simple as I've stated, that is done like this:

indexEnd = SEARCH ( stringIN, "(" )
IF indexEnd > 1
  stringOUT = EXTRACT ( stringIN, 1, ( indexEnd - 1 ) )
ENDIF