cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Shift surface problem

MarcROBERT
1-Newbie

Shift surface problem

Hi Everyone,

My name is Marc, I'm a french technician (English is not my native langage sorry if I make mistake)

I need your help, because I would like to create a lower offset 10.2 mm from my upper "skin".

I created the shift of the surface without difficulty, but I can not properly shift the "holes".

I get discontinuities and overlaps.

photo+%283%29.JPG

Please find enclosed my ".asm"

PS : I havent create the brace/spacer.

Thank for your help.

Marc

24 REPLIES 24

From what I see, the original surface is problematic, full of gaps, overlaps, etc. It will be difficult to get a clean offset from this without some import surface doctoring and repair. I assume you are working from the same imported geometry?

Eric,

Yes, I'm working from the same imported geometry.

Perhaps it would be easier if I create a shift only the skin and create a hole for the lower skin.

To shift the skin, I have no problem, but I do not know how to draw like the original hole.

Regards

Marc

Welcome to the forum, Marc.

Your surface features are probably easy enough to create. You can probably use the import model as a guide where you can make sections generate datum curves for use in a revolve sketch for the upper skin. Then you can offset this skin for the lower skin. Then add the remaining features to complete an enclosed quilt (merge the surfaces) and then you can solidify it. Maybe a little bit more work than you anticipated but it will make for a more robust model. If you can break all the references to the import model, all the better.

I didn't look at your model since I don't use RAR compression.

Antonius,