cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Sketches - Fillets don't Offset

mstevens
2-Guest

Sketches - Fillets don't Offset

I am new to Creo. I am trying to figure out why fillets don't offset. Here is what I mean...

1. Create a sketch.

2. Create a rectangle.

3. Fillet each corner of the rectangle

4. Click Offset

5. Select Loop from the "Type" dialog

6. Select one side of the rounded rectangle

7. Type a value for the offset such that the offset is inside the original rounded rectangle and hit enter.

Step 7 yields a "rectangle" for me; i.e. corners are perpendicular not rounded.

If...

7. Type a value for the offset such that the offset is OUTSIDE the original rounded rectangle and hit enter.

Then Step 7 yields a rounded rectangle.

Is this a feature or a bug?

Thanks

Melvin

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kevin
10-Marble
(To:mstevens)

Without seeing what you are actually doing it sounds like you are offsetting to create an inner loop with a value equal to or greater than the fillet radius. In this case you will get a square.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Kevin
10-Marble
(To:mstevens)

Without seeing what you are actually doing it sounds like you are offsetting to create an inner loop with a value equal to or greater than the fillet radius. In this case you will get a square.