cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Slope value instead of angle

sbhushankumar
1-Newbie

Slope value instead of angle

Is it possible to give slope value directly instead of coverting them into angle by taking tan inverse of the slope.For e.g : I want a line inclined to horizontal having a slope of (1/4).Now I dont want to take out my calculator and find out the angle, I just want to put in the slope value.

I have attached one such drawing where the dimensions are given in the slope form.Please suggest me as I am new to this software.

Thank You

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Pretty sure you can use inline functions, such as atan(1/4), which returns the angle in degrees. Instead of entering a number, type the function. It may prompt you to add this as a relation, so that you can edit the fraction later on if you want.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

You cannot do this directly that I know of. I have had to do this before. in the sketch I use construction geometry to set the slop. A vertical line of "1" horizontal line of "4" and use the diagonal vertex of each to define the sloping line. With these values, I also have the data I need to create the callout for the drawing.

Dear Antonius,

That would take extra bit of doing but I guess that is the only solution to this.Thank you for your helpful reply

Regards

Shashi.