cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Split surface in Creo for analysis in Ansys?

mlindqvist
1-Newbie

Split surface in Creo for analysis in Ansys?

I'm a novice in Ansys and I'm trying to split a surface to apply a load on a portion of that surface. How do I do this in Creo?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
346gnu
12-Amethyst
(To:mlindqvist)

Mat's

I found  (by accident) that if I enter Ansys whilst in Simulate then the selectable surfaces equivalent to the surface regions appear in Ansys.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17

As far as I'm aware, there's no way to do this 'properly' in the main Creo modeller.  Presumably if you create a surface region within Mechanica (sorry, Simulate) and then mesh it in Simulate to export to Ansys, that will do what you need.

Otherwise, one suggestion I've heard is to create a very small step in the surface to force an edge (you can probably then delete the tiny vertical elements within Ansys and 'merge' the two resulting free edges).

Another technique, depending on the geometry might be convert your model to surfaces and delete either the surface for load attachment, or the surrounding surfaces, and then re-create the missing surface in Ansys (or you could cut/delete surfaces twice and export two sets of surfaces) - but I'm just brainstorming now!

I just succeeded with a variant of your last suggestion. I have played around with a lot of alternatives, unfortunately I can't remember the exact steps but it went something like this. Open the model in FEM mode. Being in FEM mode, with your surface regions completed, click "Save as" and choose iges as the file type. This is now imported to ansys with the proper split of surfaces...