cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

Surfacing in SW vs Pro

jeffsampson
1-Newbie

Surfacing in SW vs Pro

There is a movement afoot at this company to replace Pro with SolidWorks. I am the only one who really does any surfacing around here, so I need to make sure that I'm not going to get screwed by this change if it goes through. I heard years ago that SW could not do complex surfacing, but I've seen stuff out there that would lead me to believe that this has changed more recently. I have very little experience with SW and that is only on rudimentary shapes.

Can anyone give me a comparison on the current surfacing capabilities of SW vs Pro. Is there anything it cannot do (or does poorly or is much more difficult)? Sweeps, Blends, Helical sweep, Boundary blends, Variable section sweeps? Trajpar capabilities, surface tangency and continuous curvature control?

Please limit this comparison to capabilities and not opinions or SW bashing 🙂

Thanks,

Jeff

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
11 REPLIES 11

Are you currently using ISDX? This is the biggy, although SW has caught up with ProE in it's core surfacing functionality, it still has nothing to touch ISDX.

As long as you understand fundamental surfacing theory you shouldn't have a problem, just the annoyance of time spent learning a new interface and modification of strategies to suit the SW tools.