cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

convert real number into srting with decimals in relation

Nash
1-Newbie

convert real number into srting with decimals in relation

Hi all,

I am a pro-e user form a long. I have a problem with the concatenate function in relation.

I want to join a string & the dimension for the description of my model.

Ex. If the part name is Drain-line-01 & length of the part is 202.5mm.

Then the decription of the part is to be "Drain-line-01 202.5mm.

I created a parameter

Description "string"

L "real number" for the length of the part

I used a relation to achive it description = rel_model_name + " " + L + " " + "mm"

Then the decription of the part is to be "Drain-line-01 202.5mm.

but i get an error.

error Invalid data type combination at right side of expression

I need this description with the decimals in the description

Please anybody help

Thanks in advance

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
18 REPLIES 18
MartinHanak
24-Ruby II
(To:Nash)

Naresh,

try:

desc=rel_model_name+" "+extract(itos(L*10),1,string_length(itos(L*10))-1)+","+extract(itos(L*10),string_length(itos(L*10)),1)+" mm"

Martin

Martin Hanák

It worked great

Thanks Martin

DavorGranic
14-Alexandrite
(To:MartinHanak)

Hi Martin,

I`m interested how would you do the same with number like 40.046 keeping it with 3 decimals.