cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

How to insert LF into bookmap/booktitle/mainbooktitle?

ptc-3854960
1-Newbie

How to insert LF into bookmap/booktitle/mainbooktitle?

Dear Experts,

I'm a stylesheet programmer.

One of my customers is now moving to DITA and they author DITA bookmap/topic using Arbortext editor.

They author DITA instances and they want to format them using DITA Open Toolkit.

Here is my question.

They need the following mainbooktitle element for output it to the book cover.

<mainbooktitle>Maintenance

Manual</mainbooktitle>

or

<mainbooktitle>Maintenance&#x0A;Manual</mainbooktitle>

However they say that Arbortext editor does not allow inserting LF codes into element text.

Is there any way to insert LF codes into the text node via Arbortext Editor?

Any suggestions are welcome.

Regards,

Toshihiko Makita

4 REPLIES 4

Hi there,

This sort of formatting control is entirely against the DITA paradigm, if you google for "DITA <br>" you will see all sorts of people strenuously defending the DITA ideals.

For those of us who just have to "make it work", I think the easy answer will be one of two approaches:

1. Add a DITA specialization to allow a <br/> element, then customise your stylesheets to apply the <br/> as required.

2. Use a Processing Instruction such as <?Pub _newline?> to force the linebreak. Again, your stylesheet will need to interpret this accordingly.

Hope that helps.

Cheers,

Gareth

Dear Gareth,

Thank you for your suggestion. It is very helpful.

This sort of formatting control is entirely against the DITA paradigm