cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Start using APP

hibrahim
1-Newbie

Start using APP

Greetings;

This is my first time here in the community, we working in academic publishing,

I just want to know who could help us to decide if APP will help in the current workflow of our company or not ?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

There are 2 products here that we could be discussing.

I am not sure which you are speaking about.

Are you speaking about using Arbortext Editor, Arbortext Styler and the Arbortext Publishing Engine,

or are you speaking about Arbortext Advanced Print Publisher?

Both systems handle graphics, tables, large indexes, landscape and portrait pages and large 1000+ page documents well.

Your best bet would be to speak with a PTC sales representative, so that you can define your current applications, flow process and desired goals.

Tim

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

Are you working with Arbortext Products, Arbortext Editor, Arbortext Publishing Engine?

Are you using either of the other composition forms, FOSI, XSL-FO?

Are you using Arbortext Styler?

Are you think of using the Arbortext Advanced Publishing Enterprise product?

‌From what i understod (after watching your videos) that APP could have start point of an XML file of the article (correct me if it's wrong), we currently use MS word to mark up the document, and then transform it to archival XML file, the real problem we currently face is the manual layout changes (columns balancing, floats placing etc.) in the PDF.

Regarding your main question, we don't use any of Arbortext products.

Arbortext Editor works with XML documents.

It uses document type files, .dtd, or schema files, .xsd, to define the structure of the XML documents.