cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Sketch Constraint Conflicts

ptc-6780865
1-Newbie

Sketch Constraint Conflicts

I have been a Solidworks user for many years, but I am new to Creo and studying it through the eLearning Library. There is a very simple exercise in eLearning that aims to teach how constraints work, but for some reason when I try it on my own I am having 'conflicts' when no conflicts exist. I have attached a small snip of the exercise (from eLibrary):

eLearning.PNG

The procedure (and the accompanying video) act as I would expect. However, when I try the procedure using an identical sketch (as shown):

identical+sketch.PNG

I receive a "resolve sketch" dialog box that prompts me to delete "conflicting" constraints.

resolve+sketch.PNG

None of these constraints conflict in the traditional sense of the word, nor are they any different from the constraints shown in eLearning. Does Creo treat redundant constraints as conflicting? If so, why does the identical eLearning procedure work without problems when mine does not? Thanks for the help.

5 REPLIES 5

Sketcher doesn't tolerate redundant constraints.

It may be the order you are selecting the points that causes the problem. Rather than the constraint adding an equation to the Sketch, it attempts to move one end point to the other end point. If they are on an exact horizontal then one could move the line end point to the arc endpoint successfully, but moving the arc endpoint to the line endpoint would violate a number of existing constraints. If they aren't on a common horizontal then both selection orders should result in complaint. The constraints are such they should be on a common horizontal, so it may be just the order of selection.