cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Displaying values in an equation

ptc-4557925
1-Newbie

Displaying values in an equation

Hi!

I am new at using PTC products, including PTC Mathcad.

Few hours ago, I downloaded and installed Mathcad Prime 2.0, trial version,

and of course I ended up with a problem.

In fact, maybe it isn't a problem at all.

I don't know is it possible to write and calculate the equation in the following form:

a = 5 mm

b = 17 mm

c = 25 mm

d = a * b * c = 5 mm * 17 mm * 25 mm =

d=2125mm3

Basically, I just need to know is it possible to write equations in the way that you write the equation

and Mathcad inserts numbers automatically in to equation and calculates and show in the way that

is shown above this sentence.

Hope I'll find help here

Thanks in advance!!!

6 REPLIES 6

Something like the attached helpful?

Norm

You can do that (in prime 2), but it takes some manipulating

a = 5 mm Yes, where the = sign is the one you get with : (:=)

b = 17 mm

c = 25 mm

d = a * b * c = 5 mm * 17 mm * 25 mm = The = between d and a is the declaration (:=). Requires symbolic,

explicit and may be problematic with units.

d=2125mm3 Yes, where the = sign is a true = (means evaluate) may require editing to get desired units.

Thank You both very much for your time and help.

Using explicit command in mathcad would be a great help, but I'm afraid that in my case I won't be able to use it.

For simple case, like our example (a,b,c,d) this wold be a nise solutin, but with what program can i solve multiple equations, for example , calculating the strength of shell under extarnal or interna pressure.