cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

MC15 Symbolics

prop_design
15-Moonstone

MC15 Symbolics

hi,

i've never used symbolics before and i'm having a bit of trouble. i attached the worksheet in question. i'm trying to solve for v1 and v2. however, u1 and u2 are also coming out of the Find function. i think i'm missing something.

thanks,

anthony

10 REPLIES 10
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:prop_design)

There appears to be nothing wrong.

You supply 2 equations, and want two variables solved. That matches.

Mathcad gives you two possible solutions, one where v1 equals u1 and v2 equals u2, the other where v1 and v2 depend on u1, u2, m1 and m2.

You can also do:

LucMeekes_0-1619284007336.png

Success!

Luc

thanks luc,

is there a way to tell it to ignore when u1=v1 and u2=v2

I guess you will have to select the desired column manually (but you shouldn't use copy & paste):

Werner_E_0-1619292486806.png

prop_design
15-Moonstone
(To:Werner_E)

thanks guys,

that was helpful. i understand now.

just in case it helps someone else, i attached an updated version. this takes into account what you both mentioned. it will work for any values of mass entered. i hadn't thought about if m1 = m2. i was confused by the mathcad output. but it's starting to make a little more sense. i'm not really clear on the output, since it's the first time i have tried something like this. also, i forgot to mention that i got the equations from here:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elastic_collision