cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

Mathcad 14: Display very small numbers.

LMDeBall5257
1-Newbie

Mathcad 14: Display very small numbers.

I am a physicist and I do calculations that result in very small numbers (such as Planck's constant). Mathcad 14 sets the results to zero if the numbers are less than 10**-15. Is there any fix to Mathcad 14 so that I may view the resulting small numbers?

Thank you in advance!
6 REPLIES 6

On 1/29/2010 11:56:57 PM, LMDeBall5257 wrote:
>I am a physicist and I do
>calculations that result in
>very small numbers (such as
>Planck's constant). Mathcad
>14 sets the results to zero if
>the numbers are less than
>10**-15. Is there any fix to
>Mathcad 14 so that I may view
>the resulting small numbers?
>
>Thank you in advance!

Go to Format|Result|Tolerance and set the zero threshold to 307, which is the maximum

TTFN,
Eden

>10**-15.

Actually, it just displays them as zero. It's a dumb default setting chosen years ago by some programmer or engineer that evidently thought anything small didn't really exist.

Click on a blank part of the worksheet, go to format, result, tolerance, and set both values to 307.

Richard

>10**-15. Is there any fix to
>Mathcad 14 so that I may view
>the resulting small numbers?
>
>Thank you in advance!

jmG

Back to that joule*sec vs kgm�/sec
Don't wonder why units system don't print in the mind of the ordinary layman. So, my horse has two names: "Joule" trying to learn the times table [* sec] ... but the next session I call my horse "kgm�" and now trying to learn the division by "sec".