cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Symbolic result too large to display for a system of equation

amohammadi
4-Participant

Symbolic result too large to display for a system of equation

Hello,

I am new to MathCad (version 15.0). I found similar issue in other posts but I was not able to implement it. I want to solve a system of equation for 4 equations and 4 variables. I receive the error "The symbolic result is too large to display". I need the symbolic result, because I am trying to find a general formula for any number of equations and variables for a specific problem .I'd appreciate it if you could help me with this issue.

I have attached the relevant file.

Thanks.

Abed.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Symbolics can be quite beasty in Mathcad and usually there is not much you can do against that "result is to large ..." message.

But sometimes it helps to do what Mathcad suggests - assigning the expression to a variable.

In your case the result should be a 1 x 4 matrix and we could try to show each value separately - maybe a single value is not too large to display.

But in your case this fails. Digging further shows that the result is not a 1 x 4 matrix. Possibly Mathcads symbolics would show some if statements.

Fortunately the reason for this behaviour can be found. You had typed "2." instead of just "2" two times (2nd and third equation). Deleting the decimal points (which forces the symbolics into float mode) makes the whole thing work (don't ask me why 😉

Not sure if you will be really happy with the three page wide expressions you see, but here you are.

BTW, you used vector indices - guess it would be better to use literal indices (p.2 instead of p[2).

B.png

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8