cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Units and Functions

hvanderwalt
1-Newbie

Units and Functions

Hi everyone

I am fairly new to Mathcad and hope to find an answer here for a problem I have. I have written a function that calculates material condictivity and takes a temperature as an argument:

k(T) := A*T^2 + B*T + C W/m*K

It works fine but refuses to accept anything but a unitless temperature input. How do I specify the units of function arguments?

Thanks
Hannes
6 REPLIES 6

Posting a worksheet would be helpful.

The formula you typed only used a variable "T", and Mathcad has no way of knowing you meant for it to be a temperature unit. Depending on the format of the result, you may need to "divide out" the temperature unit in the function assignment.

Thanks,
Preston
PhilipOakley
5-Regular Member
(To:ptc-1176891)

If T is in Kelvin, then A must be in units of per Kelvin^2, likewise for each term so that all the terms become unitless so can be added. (assuming you want the result to be unitless)

Note that temperture units can be very awkward because most folk (and their empirical equations) don't start at absolute zero...

Probably a good time to take a few moment to go through the tutorial sheets on units and temperature.

Philip Oakley

In the equation as written, if A and B are unitless constants, then T has to be dimensionless. Otherwise you would be trying to add a temperature to the square of a temperature, an operation that makes no sense and is not allowed by Mathcad.