cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Different types of solvers

Ramax
9-Granite

Different types of solvers

Hi guys,

I'm just getting started with Mathcad. Currently I'm trying to understand the different kinds of solvers. It seems to me there are three "basic categories":

1. "Single command Solvers", e. g. root, lsolve etc. where you just pick your appropriate solver and launch

2. "Solve blocks", which allow for separate guess values and boundary constraints, but seem to support only find, minerr, minimize, maximize and odesolve

3. The symbolic "solve" command, which seems to be for solving equations symbolically (but apparently also produces numerical solutions).

I don't quite understand what the latter two are for. What is their benefit? Aren't there plenty of solvers for everything (save maybe symbolic solutions) in the first "category"? So when should I use what? 🤔 *confused*

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanx.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Alex_Cazacu
17-Peridot
(To:Ramax)

Hello,

As I understood, they all do the same thing, but they can be used in different situations. I'd say that the most efficient is the one you are most comfortable with, unless you need more functionality this one can't handle.

Thanks,
Alex

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Alex_Cazacu
17-Peridot

Hello,

Have you looked in the available trainings:

https://learningconnector.ptc.com/products/mathcad

You may find the answers there.

Thanks,
Alex

Hi Alex,