cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need to share some code when posting a question or reply? Make sure to use the "Insert code sample" menu option. Learn more! X

Narrow band plot(dB vs linear frequency) to 1/3 Octave band plot(dB vs 1/3 Octave band) with Prime 4

jmebara
11-Garnet

Narrow band plot(dB vs linear frequency) to 1/3 Octave band plot(dB vs 1/3 Octave band) with Prime 4

Hello to all expert Mathcaders 🙂

I have to preface my question by saying that I am a newbie in the whole field of acoustics. I am however an expert in structural analysis. So please answer my question keeping in mind that fact. I now find myself in a situation where I have to determine the structure-borne sound/sound transmission characteristics of rubber structures. With the aid of harmonic analyses, I can determine the sound transfer function (in dB) and the so called transmission loss (also in dB) of the these structures. I can then make plots of for example transmission loss (in dB) versus frequency (Hz). However, the x-axis, which is the frequency is a linear distribution of the frequencies which corresponds to the frequencies as derived from the harmonic analysis. So let us say I performed my harmonic analysis for a frequency range from 0Hz to 500 Hz at intervals of 1Hz. That means that I have 501 result points for the frequency and the determined values of the transmission loss (in dB). I now make a plot of the transmission loss vs the frequency in excel, the frequency axis (horizontal) being logarithmic and the transmission loss on the vertical axis. So far, I get good curves which correspond to my expectation, when I use the mentioned methodology.