cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

WF 5 no-failure mode...

DarrinHiebert
1-Newbie

WF 5 no-failure mode...

We're rolling out WF 5 today. We had training last week with our user base. One of the things that users were excited about was the no-failure mode. As an admin, I'm not so much excited about it.

We currently have it on, and we'll see how we get along with it, but at this point, I'm a little bit skeptical. My biggest fear is that I do NOT want any production data to have any kind of failure, period. In the past, this was easy enough, because you couldn't continue until you had successfully dealt with the problem. Now, you can circumvent all of that...

Of the companies that migrated to WF 5, what has been your experience with no-fail mode? Have you left it on? Have you turned it off?
10 REPLIES 10

I understand your hesitation. However the power of this feature can not be overstated. It makes dealing with changes SO MUCH MORE effecient that you simply cannot deny access to this ability.
You are better off with rules about finalized data (model check etc.)

At the PTC Conference, they said there was a way to not allow objects that weren’t “fixed” to be checked back into Windchill. Users could save and do whatever, but until they fixed the failures they couldn’t upload/check items back in. I’m not sure how or where you do that, but it was possible…assuming you’re using Windchill…

Ted

I believe that if you use Modelcheck or similar in addition to PDM, you
can make sure that models cannot be checked in that have rolled back or
failed features.

Overall I believe that it is a good thing and will encourage more
thorough design concepts without the fear of being 'slapped down' by the
feature resolve dialogs in the middle of an inspiration.