cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

canned cycles

cc-2
6-Contributor

canned cycles

Hello

we recently purchased the complete machining licence for ProE. We sent our users to training and came back very disappointed as they said

"WE have NEVER seen another CAM software without canned cycles"

I am not a CAM expert and rely on my users. However, this situation has created a misconfidence in using ProE for CAM.

The other areas such as milling are find but the users focus on this aspects.

We are using WF4M150.

I take our company is not the only one using Complete Machining (we also have production machnining too) and canned cycles must also be a concerned for other users.

Our consultants seem to be helpless in providing us with a solution which will provide us with canned cycles.

Is that just a mental representation and indeed, it is not needed, just nice to have, is it really a missing feature.

I would like to hear from your experience, what you think of this situation and how you by-pass this lack of "critical" feature as some of our users say.

Thank you

Best regards

5 REPLIES 5
dford
1-Newbie
(To:cc-2)

What type of canned cycles are you referring to?

Holemaking cycles
hole-pattern cycles
milling cycles (pocketing, thread milling, ...)
lathe cycles (threading, rough turning, ...)

Some are supported right from the start (holemaking, and ?). Others can be supported through post-processor customization.

If you are not doing a lot of editing programs at the machine, and program size is not an issue, then there might not be much reason for cycles to be output.