cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

saving issue

hspaulding
3-Visitor

saving issue

When saving an assembly, often times Creo will ask me “Do I want to save/continue/make read only/etc” parts that have really not been intentionally modified. When I indicate “Make Read Only”, I get the message “[filename] could not be saved to the workspace”. Then if I save a second time, the assembly is saved “[filename] has been saved”.

Is this something we are doing wrong that makes us have to save twice? Some procedure we need to correct? A setting in the config that needs adjusting? Creo 3.0 F000 Windchill 10.2 M22

Thanks in advance,

Herb Spaulding

Miller Industries


This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

My preference is to Lock all items in the workspace. This can't be applied to checked out or new items, so even if you select all items it won't affect new things or items you intend to change. I think you may have to unlock items you already have in a workspace if you want to check them out, but I'm not entirely sure.

The two-step is probably because the first save attempt items are not locked at the time the save is started, so it flags an error when it can't be saved after being locked mid-operation. The second attempt it doesn't bother trying because it sees that it is locked when making the list of items to save; therefore, no error.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

My preference is to Lock all items in the workspace. This can't be applied to checked out or new items, so even if you select all items it won't affect new things or items you intend to change. I think you may have to unlock items you already have in a workspace if you want to check them out, but I'm not entirely sure.

The two-step is probably because the first save attempt items are not locked at the time the save is started, so it flags an error when it can't be saved after being locked mid-operation. The second attempt it doesn't bother trying because it sees that it is locked when making the list of items to save; therefore, no error.

I got my answer to this.

"The two-step is probably because the first save attempt items are not locked at the time the save is started, so it flags an error when it can't be saved after being locked mid-operation. The second attempt it doesn't bother trying because it sees that it is locked when making the list of items to save; therefore, no error."

Thanks to David Schenken

BTW, not only did I need an answer to this, but I also thought I would test out the PTC/user vs. PTC Community response times. PTC Community wins this round by about 2 hours.

Yes I am as surpised as anyone. No more negative waves directed to PTC Community from me.

To be fair to PTC/user, Mike Foster also came up with the answer to my problem.

That's only because of the order I looked at the posts. I happened to be checking Community at the time. I noticed at least three posts with the same question, two here, one there.

Top Tags