cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Creating custom boilerplate snippets

jensc
17-Peridot

Creating custom boilerplate snippets

Hello,

I want to preface this post with saying that I am not very good with Java, so please excuse any glaring rule breaking.

Anyway, I wanted to try and make some company specific boilerplate snippets.

I have managed to create a custom extension and I can import it into my platform correctly.

However when used, it returns a function like;

let ResultTypeName = doSomething();

Instead of what I am returning from the "doSomething" function.

I'm certain I am doing something wrong.

What I want is basically something similar to how the try/catch snippet works, or really almost any other snippet. 

I started with following this PTC article and also this document but felt it didn't really cover my needs.

So if anyone has any other resources around this, I'd very much appreciate it if they could post them here.

I'm also uploading my metadata and src file in case it is of interest.

Thanks,

Jens

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
slangley
23-Emerald II
(To:jensc)

Hi @jensc.

We did more research on this and found that even if you're able to add snippets, only users in the Administrators group will be able to see them.

At this point in time, this is not a supported feature of ThingWorx and previous requests for this have not been approved.

Regards.

--Sharon

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
slangley
23-Emerald II

Hi @jensc.