cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Want the oppurtunity to discuss enhancements to PTC products? Join a working group! X

How can I get url parameter in master?

drichter
14-Alexandrite

Hi,

I have a master with a menu and a mashup container. On the top of the master I would show the current page title. Some pages (mashups) have lists of items. If I double click them I jump to a new page with the data of the item. Now I will show "machine xzy" in the top of the master. To get the double clicked item I will use the url parameter.

5 REPLIES 5

Parameters inside the defaults collection don't necessarily have to match a placeholder in the route path. In fact, you can use the defaults array to specify extra parameters that will then be accessible as arguments to your controller, and as attributes of the Request object:

# config/routes.yaml
blog:
    path:       /blog/{page}
    controller: App\Controller\BlogController::index
    defaults:
        page: 1
        title: "Hello world!"

Now, you can access this extra parameter in your controller, as an argument to the controller method:

public function index($page, $title)
{
    // ...
}

Alternatively, the title could be accessed through the  object:

use Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Request;

public function index(Request $request, $page)
{
    $title = $request->attributes->get('title');

// ...
}

As you can see, the $title variable was never defined inside the route path, but you can still access its value from inside your controller, through the method's argument, or from the Request object's attributes bag.

________________________________________________________________________________________

Also CHeck this out for 

Kickass Proxy | Free Netflix Accounts | Free Movie Sites | Best Radar Detectors 

supandey
19-Tanzanite
(To:drichter)