cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

How to analyse data in a data table ?

hvanloggerenber
1-Newbie

How to analyse data in a data table ?

I am fairly new to ThingWorx and is still figuring my architecture on a project.

I have for now a data table.

My devices loads data into this table (as we speak).

I need to manipulate this data and draw statistics from it and write this stats into other data tables.

The stats I will then display in a mashup.

1. How do I write a service that will extract data from the data table (these will be similar to writing queries in a SQL DB)?

2. How will I add new sets of data into data tables (not row by row)?

3. Where can I find documentation to assist the above?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi Hein, you could use out of the box services provided by the DataTable entity. The format is JS sort of similar to SQL but its not SQL. There are several services you can call to perform CRUD operations on the data in DataTable thing, you can check the method  descriptions in the APIDocumentation, here's quick screenshot

You can access this documentation from the ThingWorx Composer > Help > Documentation > API Documentation > ThingWorx API Documentation

What you may need to consider if you are planning to store large amount of data in the DataTable (over 100,000 rows) is the performance which may reduce in that case you may want to consider using a Table in the Database via an external database connection. I think this blog should help you decide Where Should I Store My Thingworx Data?

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3