cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

How to start

sagrawal
1-Newbie

How to start

Hi, I am new in thingworx. I had attended one training on composer and meshup. I wanted to do some poc with an wifi enabled device.

Can anybody help me how can I connect? what are the thing required for the integration? how device will get connected and send data?

FYI-I have configure only composer 7.0.

4 REPLIES 4
mhollenbach
5-Regular Member
(To:sagrawal)

Sachinkumar,

You need to evaluate a few things like:

• What type of OS is on the wifi device and what are the hardware specs of the device?
  • Are you going to be running an EMS, C SDK, Java SDK, C# .NET SDK on this device?
  • Do you need to transmit a lot of data back and forth between platform and device?
    • It may be easier for you to just send REST requests to the platform rather than open a websocket connection
  • What do you want your model in ThingWorx to look like?
    • Are you just trying to connect a device and collect some data from it or are you modeling something a bit more elaborate?

ThingWorx 7.0 will be fine for whatever you need to do, but if you don't have any of the Edge software I recommend taking a look at this blog for sending REST calls via Java. If your device can't run a JVM then you will need to send rest requests in another language, such as C.

Here is a link to the 7.0 Help Center

Here is a link to the Edge Help Center

If you have any specific questions definitely take a look around the Community and the Help Centers, or ask follow up questions on this thread.

Meghan

Hi Meghan

Thanks for your reply.

I am trying to explore the platform by connecting device and showing device data on meshup. Will REST API help me to send data to the meshup. Please update.