cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

Indirectly Referencing Thing Properties in Script

jhemper
2-Guest

Indirectly Referencing Thing Properties in Script

I am looking for a way to iterate through a number of similarly named properties in an service to count the number of current alarms. I am not a JavaScript expert and have tried the following script but it does not seem to work:

me.z_AlarmCount = 0
for (var i=301;i<396;i++)
var n = i.toString()
    me.DebugString = "me.Alarm_CCP_Boiler_" + n;

if (("me.Alarm_CCP_Boiler_" + n) == 1)
    {
        me.z_AlarmCount = me.z_AlarmCount + 1;
    }
}

Any assistance or advise would be appreciated.

Many Thanks

Jan Hemper
InVMA

13 REPLIES 13
AdamR
12-Amethyst
(To:jhemper)

Instead of "me.Alarm_CCP_Boiler_" + n

Use me["Alarm_CCP_Boiler_" + n]

AdamR
12-Amethyst

So full script would be...

me.z_AlarmCount = 0for (var i=301;i<396;i++)var n = i.toString()    me.DebugString = "me.Alarm_CCP_Boiler_" + n;{       if ((me["Alarm_CCP_Boiler_" + n]) == 1)    {        me.z_AlarmCount = me.z_AlarmCount +1;    }}

adam11
5-Regular Member

Hi Jan,

If I understand you correctly, you want to count the number of occurrences for properties prefixed with Alarm_CCP_Boiler, which will give you the number of alarms. However, based on your for loop, it seems you're only interested in a subset of these alarms?

If you simply want to count the number of occurrences for properties prefixed with Alarm_CCP_Boiler:

<br>

result = me.GetPropertyDefinitions(); // Get Properties for me

var params = 

{

inclusive: true, // Include Matched Rows

t: result, // Infotable to Filter

pattern: "Alarm_CCP_Boiler" + "%", // Pattern to Match (% is wildcard)

fieldName: "name" // Property Name Field Returned by GetPropertyDefinitions()

};