cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Thingworx, EMS, SDK and LUA

trungkien2104
7-Bedrock

Thingworx, EMS, SDK and LUA

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie working with Thingworx platform. Currently, I have some concerns about the EMS and Lua script. I already knew about the benefit when we use the EMS to connect the remote thing. But the REST API, SDK and LUA script make my confusion:

- When I use EMS standalone, I can Read/Write data from Thingworx Platform through the REST API of EMS. So, the workflow I prefer is read data from sensor -> Use PUT request to send data to Thingworx via EMS. It is practice for me because I can use only one script (in any languages programming) to read data and send it to Thingworx. I saw some examples concern about Andruino and other microprocessors, so I think that is is a good choice to send data via REST API because they can access to Wifi but they can't program with LUA or SDK. That is why I concern about the LUA script. The LUA script is just an optional in Thingworx or it required to connect all the remote things ?

- By the way, it is similar with the REST API, I don't know exactly the benefit of SDK in this case. Could you please give me some examples to choose which method should be used to send data to Thingworx ? I have no ideal to choose which one should to be learned deeper because I come from IT and the REST API is very familiar for me. If three method are the same, I always want to use REST API.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

4 REPLIES 4

The point of the EMS or the Agent SDK is so you can get a safe and secure bidirectional connection from your devices/systems to Thingworx over websockets.

If you are just doing REST PUT to Thingworx you don't need an agent at all.