cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

Does Query Builder have an option that works like a CASE statement?

rnewcomb
1-Newbie

Does Query Builder have an option that works like a CASE statement?

I am new to Windchill.  I have some experiencing in creating reports using other software.  What I want to do is create a report that shows the current incomplete task and assignee associated with an open change request.  If a change notice is associated with a change request, I want to  display the current incomplete task and assignee associated with the the change notice.  As I understand it, when I retrieve the tasks associated with the CR, I'm only retrieving the tasks within the CR's workflow.  In order to also retrieve the CN task, I would need to have the query check the state of the CR and if it is approved, retrieve the task associated with the change notice's workflow.   In my past experience, I would have used a CASE statement  to provide the IF - THEN- ELSE functionality but I'm stumped on how to do that within query builder.  Has anyone done something similar?  I've read every resource document I can find but I have yet to come across anything that seems to address this type of situation.

2 REPLIES 2

Rachel,

you can read also this document Resource for reporting if you haven't already done.

There is a section dedicated to CN-CR query

Also take a look at this document Query Builder for Live Project Status Reports (NPI, Large Engineering Change, etc.)

Marco
MikeLockwood
22-Sapphire I
(To:rnewcomb)

Haven't ever really thought of IF - THEN - ELSE for query builder - just criteria.