I have done this before, but I can't remember what I did.
One of our draftsman has a drawing checked out. He wants to get it Released, but they can't because he hasn't checked it back in. Trouble is he can't find which Workspace it's in. I watched him search for it, and he only has about 5 workspaces available to him. None of them have the drawing in it. When I search for it, I can see that it's definitely checked out to him.
How can I find what Workspace it's in? I have Orgadmin privileges. Like I say, I have done this before, but only once, about a year ago. We have 10.2.
I'm not getting that (Go to Original Version) line. See below:
As you can see, it's checked out to someone. If it's checked out, it must be in a Workspace, correct?
What Harshal shows is only valid for work checked out by yourself.
For work checked out by others, what Graham shows is all you get.
Hmm. funny thing is, the guy who had the object checked out sent me a screen shot originally, and it didn't have the "Go to Working Copy" thing shown either.
Never mind, it was easier to undo the Checkout and for him to Check it out and do the work again. It shouldn't be that way of course.
Stupid question probably, but, can the user just do an Undo Check Out? Maybe work would be lost (?) but you would get the file "unlocked" in Commonspace.
There is Another option , Ask designer to checkout the same again . Then checkout will fail with an error . You can see that error in the event manager which says this object is already checked out to the workspace xxxxx