cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do discard changes to local workspace but not server workspace?

TomU
Emerald II

How do discard changes to local workspace but not server workspace?

I must be missing something super simple here, but how does one discard the changes to an object in a local workspace without losing the changes in the server side workspace?

Steps to reproduce

  1. Check out object
  2. Open in Creo, make changes, save.
  3. Upload changes.
  4. Make more changes in Creo, save.

Need to discard changes in step 4 and return to condition of object in step 3.

"Update" doesn't work - "Nothing is Out Of Date in Workspace"

Frames (or events) aren't an option (in this particular case).

Current workaround is to launch Creo on a different PC, export the object from the same workspace (with only the server side changes), physically transport it to the other PC, and re-open, overwriting the last local workspace version.

Is there a better way?

5 REPLIES 5

Re: How do discard changes to local workspace but not server workspace?

You can delete the workspace cache, restart Creo and resync.

Maybe there is still a better way.

Is server side definitely different, we have it set to automatically upload after checkin?

Re: How do discard changes to local workspace but not server workspace?

Yes, definitely different. We do not have auto upload turned on.

The issue with blowing the cache away is that you will lose anything else that is changed but not uploaded. Depending on the number of workspaces and the number of objects in each workspace, this could be a lot of things.

Re: How do discard changes to local workspace but not server workspace?

Tom, can you not simply upload and check-in all the changes you want to keep, don't upload the changes you want to revert. Then download everything again, to a new workspace?

Re: How do discard changes to local workspace but not server workspace?

Not easily. There are hundreds of objects in the workspace in the process of being updated. There is no guarantee that all of these objects are ready to be checked in.

Re: How do discard changes to local workspace but not server workspace?

Hi Tom,

You probably figured it out by now, but the solution is to use the "Add to Workspace" command:

In my case, I was working on a new assembly, which I previously saved and uploaded (not yet been checked in).

Anyway, I saved some unintended changes to it.  So I wanted to get the server side workspace version back to my client workspace:

I selected this object (it had the upward curved arrow icon "Modifications need to be uploaded").  Then I used "Add to Workspace" command (Yellow square with + on it).  Then, I switched to the advanced view, removed all but the initially selected object from the table, and changed the action from "reuse" (recycle symbol) to "Download" (downward curved arrow symbol)...  This worked well: the system asked if I want to replace the object in session and I did - and the changes were gone.

I think that for your case where you already have stuff checked in, the procedure would be similar...

Announcements