cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Noob question regarding backup recover

tbenedict
2-Guest

Noob question regarding backup recover

Ok, so I am new to the admin side of things and had a user ask a seemingly very simple question that I can't answer. " I deleted a model that I had checked in a week ago. Can you recover it for me?" Let's assume there was a backup after check in and before the delete.

It has to be possible right? I can't find a utility for recovering files and I had pretty much assumed the backups were of the SQL database and was mostly there for disaster recovery. Can someone please give me a high level explanation of how I would recover an individual file?

8 REPLIES 8
GaryMansell
6-Contributor
(To:tbenedict)

Hi Tom,

As you have realised, restoring an entire Windchill instance to recover a single item is probably not worth the effort.

The process to restore a single or a few items, should go like this:

What you need to be able to do is translate from Windchill name to the underlying name of vault filename - this is usually a hexadecimal number and you can see all these files in the Windchill Vault filesystem.

It would then be possible to find the file in the filesystem of your Windchill Vault as they don't get deleted at the filesystem level even if deleted in Windchill, unless you perform a "remove un-referenced files" using the vault admin tool.

Even if you have performed a "remove un-referenced files", if you back up your file system to tape the file/files can be restored from tape.

You can then rename these files to be able to be opened in the authoring application and save them back into Windchill as new items.