cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Why is Windchill Administration so cryptic!

BuddyHudson
1-Newbie

Why is Windchill Administration so cryptic!

To all Admins,

I guess I have just reached a frustration level that I never experienced in my professional carrer with attempting to decode all of templates, processes, coding, JAVA, IBAs, attribute management, queue management, and the 100 other things that are trying to keep this system up and running. I truly feel that this was a plot by PTC management to purposefully make eveything so complex and complicated, and keep all the tricks to themselves on how to debug, fix, or customize anything in the system. Im sorry but I am not a JAVA programmer. I am an engineer who has worked in research and development for 20 years, then decided to try my hand at the admin role simply because I enjoyed helping people do and understand what I used to do. If I had time, I would write a Windchill for DUMMIES manual that explained things in laymans terms, not in 10 seperate manuals that are 400 pages thick. I have inquired into the training that tech support is provided, and PTC says, "It is not publicly avaiable to the customer". What a load of crap. We are the companies that pay the millions of dollars in development money to keep the product going. I feel like we are being ignored, and all I hear from the rest of the community is well you cant say it like that, or you have to be positive. I have given the better part of 20+ years supporting this company (PTC) and their software, but I am getting to my wits end. Sorry for the rant but I know there are other out there who feel this way and need the same help. Tech support is a joke and getting worse. So who else do we admins have to turn to?

Sincerely frustrated,

Buddy Hudson

6 REPLIES 6

Concur, Buddy.