cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Windchil 10.0 - first impressions

gchampoux
1-Newbie

Windchil 10.0 - first impressions

Has anyone else taken a look at Windchill 10.0 (beta) yet?

I am still learning/configuring/testing Intralink 9.1 (including migration from 3.4).
However, by the time I am ready to deploy 9.1, 10,0 is likely to be fully released (F000).
So I downloaded and installed 10.0 C000 for a quick test drive.

My first observation: Massive UI change.
I am not yet ready to decide if this UI is better than 9.1.
However, I am concerned that PTC made such a radical change.
This almost forces me to delay our deployment until 10.0.
If I deploy 9.1 and upgade to 10.x later, our users will have to learn a new/different UI.
Users tend to be resistant to change.
So I would prefer to teach them only one UI.

I also noticed that the performance is much slower than 9.1, but this may be due to 10.0's beta status.
It might still have a lot of debug code active.

Gerry

7 REPLIES 7
avillanueva
22-Sapphire I
(To:gchampoux)

It is dramatic. Did you recompile the JSP pages ahead of time? That can
account for speed issues at the beginning. In my experience, it is rare
for users to customize their own UI. Mostly, it will be admins creating
it for them based on their profile. Open in new tab still blows some
people away.

Some notes below we made on 10 regarding customization after having a look at it.

I am working with a client that is planning a go live quite soon and for me going live and upgrading will be tough, as you said not so much for technical reasons but much more for user acceptance, 10 is very, very different. After some hours playing with it, I am beginning to really like it and 9.1 feels at little old in comparison. I will be trying to get them to go live on 10 if it is at all feasible.