cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

Assembly hide functionality. Hides all identical parts?

Nairn
8-Gravel

Assembly hide functionality. Hides all identical parts?

Hi there,

I am hoping someone can help me here. I am fairly new to Creo (Come from using Solidworks), and I am using Creo 6 to handle large assemblies, but I notice that when I try to hide single components that are part of a sub-assembly any additional copies of that component in any other sub-assemblies are being hidden at the same time. Is there a way to turn this functionality off? Is this a bug or a "feature"?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Chris3
20-Turquoise
(To:Nairn)

This is how the software works. If that is not what you want you could look into using a simplified representation (simplified rep). You an turn individual components on and off with a simplified rep.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Chris3
20-Turquoise

This is how the software works. If that is not what you want you could look into using a simplified representation (simplified rep). You an turn individual components on and off with a simplified rep.

StephenW
23-Emerald II

If you open the sub-assy separately in that session of creo, the component will be hidden in the sub-assy, hence the component is hidden anywhere that sub-assy is used.

I agree with Chris, for large assy management, you will want to use simp reps.

sacquarone
20-Turquoise
(To:StephenW)

Hello @Nairn 

Previous answers in this post are correct and clear to me, but if you have a recent experience with our products, you will probably appreciate further clarification on the question: Why, when I hide a component in a given sub-assembly, it is sometimes (but not always) hidden elsewhere in my top structure?