cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

Create solid models from .dwg files.

ptc-5162209
1-Newbie

Create solid models from .dwg files.

Hello all, I am new to Creo and am having trouble with one component. I am looking for a step by step tutorial/video/instruction on how to take a .dwg file and turn it into a solid model. I have looked to youtube but the explanation was not detailed enough for me. Do I need to setup the files in a folder that Creo can access and then attempt to make the part? Any help in this matter is greatly appreciated because it has been extremely frustrating for me.

Thanks

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

--> open dwg file in autocad.

-->save as .dxf format...

-->go to part module.

--> sketcher

-->then click FILE DATA SYSTEM and import drawig location.

((tell me later if you need video tut.))

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18

Go to you help files and type in "3D from 2D".

You will get a few pages to review regarding Legacy Migration.

I know nothing about it and I have no clue as to the limitations.

Logically, the process would be to open the 2D file and making it a Creo drawing.

If you have luck with this, let us know.

...and welcome to the forum

--> open dwg file in autocad.

-->save as .dxf format...

-->go to part module.

--> sketcher