cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Harness drawing best practices (Help!)

TractorGuy
12-Amethyst

Harness drawing best practices (Help!)

I am very new to cabling and I'm in the process of creating my first flat harness drawing. Flattening the harness took a little time to figure out, but now that I'm creating the drawing I realize the flatten state is a bit of a mess and I'm probably not doing things the correct way. I have been unable to find tutorials or documentation to point me in the right direction, so I figured I would ask here.

Below is a screen shot from my drawing showing what is possibly the worst location of my harness. I have two connectors that plug into a controller and two bundles that go in different directions (one large bundle, one small bundle). I realize that this is nearly impossible to put any dimensions on:

TractorGuy_0-1639147831259.png

What I would like to get to is something more like the image below where the two connectors split off and simple length dimension can be added. I know that I can change the cable from thick to centerline view, but I still have a mess of individual wires (which are driving my pin tables) and I don't see a simple way to make a simple centerline from the bundle to the connector.

TractorGuy_1-1639147876133.png

What is the best way to clean this up so that a) my individual wires are still routed correctly and driving my pin tables and b) my harness will flatten with a simple/single centerline from the main branch to the connector?

11 REPLIES 11
jchelle
15-Moonstone
(To:TractorGuy)

Hello TractorGuy,

Thank you for posting this request.

In order to help you, PTC proposes trainings and tutorials around cabling.