cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

Map keys and Parameters WF4 or WF5

ptc-5641567
1-Newbie

Map keys and Parameters WF4 or WF5

I am new to PRO/E so if there is an easier way to go about this please let me know. My problem is that I need to put a special text on my parts. Currently to place the text I have each letter saved as a sketch and on the palette and then I go and place each letter individual as an extrude. Could I make a parameter called part_name that was a string and was seven letters long, and then create a mapkey that would look at part_name and place the appropriate sketch from the palette?

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
7 REPLIES 7

here is what I do you may be able to adapt it for your needs. I add this realation file_name = rel_model_name

I then create a cosmetic groove and point that to the parameter.

cg.PNG

oh that is cool i just started theextrude tool and created text with the text tool and selected the parameter. and now i have some sweet extruded letters

Nick,

I have seen that before and it works great but our machines only read a special font. Would you know how I could load this font into the text tool or the cosmetic groove feature?