cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Nautilus Gears

ptc-5013932
1-Newbie

Nautilus Gears

Hello, I am new to Creo and modeling online am trying to make something for fun ( I have found this teaches me much more useful things then the class tutorials.) I am working on making a nautilaus Gear, which can be seen here: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-0sTpWXq1llY/UBG9BFHXcxI/AAAAAAAAFWI/qio1WPDbnq0/s1600/DSC04545+%2528Custom%2529.JPG

I can make the logarithmec spiral and am able to sweep around it, but I am having some issues making the teeth for the gear. I have tried making one tooh and using th epattern tool to make it, but the teeth are never on the surface. I have tried dozens of times at this point and several different methods to make the teeth. If anyone with more experience has a method for creating these types of spirals I am all ears. Here is the basic shape of spiral with the type of tooth I am looking for.

The tooth isn't exactly to the dimensions I will be doing in the end, but I am working to get the process down before making the final part. The extra bulk in the center is for the future whne I actually have to make a hole for it to revolve around. No date that it is needed by, but I will probably be doing it tomorrow and sometime next week as my spring break just started.

Thanks in advance everyone.

Jamie