cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

New to Creo - Parameter Roll-Up in Assemblies

mwick
4-Participant

New to Creo - Parameter Roll-Up in Assemblies

Hello,

I am new to Creo and I am guessing this is a basic thing. I have created a Parameter in my Part and Sheetmetal templates for Total Estimated Weight. I have also created that same Parameter in my Assembly Template. I have relations in the Part and Sheetmetal files that allow for adding weight manually if these are purchased parts, or welded, to had weld weight. In my assembly I want to total all the "child" weights into the "parent" Total Estimate Weight Parameter, but I am not sure how to write a relation to do that. Can someone help?

Thanks,

Mike

14 REPLIES 14
huggre
1-Newbie
(To:mwick)

Hi

Creo automatically calculates weight and assign this value to a system parameter if you set the mass_property_calculate = automatic in your config.pro.

The name for this parameter is pro_mp_mass

If you want to assign this value to your own parameter you can simply add the following relation to your start part.

weight = pro_mp_mass

Note that these calculation are based on the volume and density of each individual part in your assembly and not based on any weight parameter you may have added to the individual parts.

Hugo

mwick
4-Participant
(To:huggre)

Hugo,

That is my issue, I need to be able to calculate the total weight based on the user defiend parameters of the individual parts. Not all the parts in my assemblies have an acurate density or even a model. I wish I could rely on that, but unfortunately that is not always the case.

Thanks though

Mike

huggre
1-Newbie

Mike

Try this:

1. Create a real parameter (weight) in your model and specify the correct weight

2. Add the folowing relations to the part