cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Painting Features in a Part File

ptc-5003430
1-Newbie

Painting Features in a Part File

Hello all,

Sorry to post what is probably an elementary question, I am new to Pro Engineer (I've only been using it for a little over a month now) and my problem is this:

I have a part file with multiple revolve features in it that are stacked on top of each other. So basically, if you imagine it similar to maybe a stack of washers... the top of the 2nd revolve is directly contacting the bottom of the 1st revolve, and the top of the 3rd revolve is directly contacting the bottom of the 2nd revolve, etc etc. I want to paint each individual revolve a different color so if you look at a cross section you clearly see the stack up (right now it just looks like a solid grey piece.) However, when I go to paint the surfaces, it acts as if all the different revolves stacked on top of each other are one solid piece and it paints one side of the entire stack up instead of just the one revolve I want. It doesn't seem to allow me to click the feature in the model tree in order to paint the whole feature at once, and if I change the selection method in the top right from "all" to "part" it again acts as if the whole thing is one part instead of many stacked features.

I also tried suppressing all the features but one in order to change the appearances one at a time, but when I paint the remaining feature and restore the suppressed features they are painted too.

Also, I know that it is possible in an assembly file... is it possible in a part file too?

This is driving me nuts!

I'm sure their must be a simple way to do this!

Thanks for your help!

Pete