cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

Problems taking sketch to 3d

MattBarbour
1-Newbie

Problems taking sketch to 3d

Help!! I am a new pro/e'er. I started a new design as a solid part. I spent several hours working on a sketch and before I started to do any 3d work, I had to shut down Pro/E. I saved the work and since it was just a sketch it saved as an .sec. When I open the .sec file it won't give me the option to do any 3d work. I have tried opening a new part and imported the file and I still can't get the extrude tools to work. Super frustrated what am I doing wrong! Please help! Many thanks!!! I am attaching the sketch file in case that helps.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
7 REPLIES 7

The problem you have is that it's an open sketch. Select the Highlight Open Ends icon in sketcher to show where the open ends are. Close the open ends using the Corner icon and try to extrude again. The following shows the open ends.New Picture.jpg

Thanks! Unfortunately I actually did just figure that out and i closed the corners and it still won't extrude, when I hit the extrude it doesn't highlight the check so I can't start the function. It won't select the sketch no matter how I try to select, the placement tab is highlighted red? I am losing my mind over this! Any other idea's, thanks!!

Hi Matt,