cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Understanding weight/mass values in Creo 4.0

Chas
3-Visitor

Understanding weight/mass values in Creo 4.0

I am new to Creo (CAD in general) and trying to understand how to interpret the value calculations in my assembly after I populated the part models with the same "steel.mtl" value.

I loaded the individual parts as follows:

When in the Model files, I selected:

FILE / PREPARE / MODEL PROPERTIES / MATERIAL … CHANGE / and selected “steel.mtl” from the Material Directory list.

When I go to the assemblies "Mass Properties" window I see a MASS value of 1.3697370e+06 KILOGRAM but do not know how to convert this to either general kilos or pounds. Can anyone direct me to translating this?

Thank you in advance.

3 REPLIES 3
StephenW
23-Emerald II
(To:Chas)

Kilos is an abbreviation for kilograms so you are already there, but since the value is so high, I suspect you have a units problem. 

You will need to check your assembly UNITS and ALL your parts UNITS. You do that in the same place under FILE - PREPARE - MODEL PROPERTIES then UNITS/change.

Chas
3-Visitor
(To:StephenW)

Thank you. Upon opening the Units window as directed, I selected "Mass" in the pull-down the Type,  "kg" for my Units and clicked "New".  It then opened window "Unit Definition". Is this where I now enter the Density for the steel.mtl value? (7.8057331e-06) where the window "Scale" is noted? 

StephenW
23-Emerald II
(To:Chas)