cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Units setting

ptc-4696138
1-Newbie

Units setting

I'm new to PTC/Creo ProE or whatever they call it now. I'm trying to set the units, and it looks like the default is 0.0012, and I can't seem to change it "globally", as everything is grayed out until I open a drawing. Do I have to set the units every time I start a drawing? Also, it looks like the minimum accuracy is 0.00001... this is not nearly as accurate as Inventor or SolidWorks. Is this correct?? Can I set the units to the maximum accuracy and have it open each new file at those units or do I have to set the units every time?

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
12 REPLIES 12

I don't think you are referring to units but instead "accuracy value".

It gets deeper than this and I find it most annoying.

There is "Relative Accuracy" and "Absolute Accuracy"

1st of all, you have to set allow_absolute_accuracy in config.pro. Next, you have to set the accuracy to Absolute in the dialog you found. You do not have access to this without the config setting.

The idea is that a big part shouldn't require a small dimension feature. This is the "relative" part of the thinking.