cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Piston Simulation

fphelps
1-Newbie

Piston Simulation

Hey guys. I am new to Creo 3.0 Simulation. I am wanting to run a simple static simulation on a piston. I am wanting to know what would be the best set up for the push pull motion of the piston. I understand where and how to apply the loads, but would it be best to run 2 different analysis? One for the push loads and one for the pull loads? Or is there a way to run the simulation as a "Animation Simulation" figuratively speaking? I know you can animate the simulation. But have it where one cylce is the pull cycle and the other cycle is the push of my simulation. I hope this makes sense. Thanks in advance for the help everyone.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
9 REPLIES 9

You can have two (or more) loadsets within the same analysis, which is a run-time efficient way to do it.

However, if it's a simple linear analysis then reversing the magnitude of the load (reversing the load vector by 180°) will give you the same numbers, just with negative (compressive) stresses where there were previously positive (tensile), and the same for displacements.