cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

Simulate - Static Hyperelastic material WITHOUT Large Deformation?

nebraska-engr
8-Gravel

Simulate - Static Hyperelastic material WITHOUT Large Deformation?

This is my first time dabbling with hyperelastic materials on Creo Simulate. Elastoplastic materials are quite fun and are fairly easy to run. But, I have found that when using large deformation, the simulation takes over a day or fails. As such, I typically run without large deformation selected.

However, I noticed that within the Hyper-elastic material options, I am unable to deselect "calculate large deformation. Is there a way to run a hyper-elastic material without large deformation?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I would say no. 

However if the deflection is so small that it falls in small strain then you could use linear elastic material as a substitute for hyperelastic material.  Generally hyperelastic materials are used with large strains so we must use a hyperelastic material definition and the required large deformation option.

Even if a material is typically classified with a special behavior (like hyperelastic) does not mean that other, even simpler material models can never be used.

On occasion I have even seen large deformation solve faster, but generally you are correct, if large strain is not needed then turning it off will save time.