cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

Sweeping tangent to surface

JLude_86
1-Newbie

Sweeping tangent to surface

Hey all, I'm still relatively new to creo but im picking it up quickly. One problem I've had over several of my models I've been working on lately is sweeping along a surface. I have a particular shape I want to sweep along the side of my part but whenever I attempt to do it, I gives me the following error: "WARNING: Highlighted entitites not exactly tangent; probably overdimensioned."

I've tried everything I can think of to tackle this problem from editing the sketched section by adding and removing chunks of the sketch to try to narrow down a particular point on it that might be causing the problem. I also tried changing the trajectory sketches to incorporate various radii and altering the dimensions of those to study the result without success. If anyone one has any insight I would appreciate it, like I said this isnt the first time I've had this problem and I'm really getting tired of changing the design of my part becasue I cant get creo to do what I want.

A little about the sweep section, I am projecting the sketch from the surface as shown in the first image. I have also tried drawing the sketch without using the projection method thinking the source geometry may be at fault with the same result.

I'm using Creo Parametric 1.0 btw.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.