cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

LEP with APP

otudor
8-Gravel

LEP with APP

Hi,

I am new with APP, better said with how APP works. I am trying to put together a list of effective pages (LEP).

I do understand the concept of traversing the document, extract the page number for each page and put it into a javascript global variable of type array and extract the info from the array into a lep page set or page region. What I am having trouble with is where (in what edit source?) to declare the array global variable and then how to access the array from the page set or from the page region.

Thank you for help in advance!

Florin

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I would use application.arrays to store the LEP information. You will need to clear it before formatting, which is the part I'm not clear on. You may be able to clear on the outermost element (e.g. <document>) but that may accidentally clear after format too.

Once you're formatting then you can add edited source at each relevant element/context/condition that triggers a change page. Your code would be something like application.arrays.lep[pgnum] = 1; where pgnum is the current page number (formatting.currentPage.pageNumber).

After the format, you then need to interrogate the "lep" array. Any array index whose value is 1 indicates a changed page. You may still find extra pages marked due to the way APP formatting works around page ends, but this should give you most of what you need.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

I would use application.arrays to store the LEP information. You will need to clear it before formatting, which is the part I'm not clear on. You may be able to clear on the outermost element (e.g. <document>) but that may accidentally clear after format too.